2022 Report of the Standing Committee of the Diocese of Missouri

The Standing Committee's mission is as follows," The Standing Committee is requested to give or decline consent for all bishops elected in the Episcopal Church. Within the Diocese, the Standing Committee approves candidates for ordination. Standing Committee is a council of advice to the Bishop. It acts as the ecclesiastical authority if the office of the bishop is vacant or the bishop is incapacitated. The Standing Committee membership is six lay and six clerical representatives elected in staggered terms of four years by the Diocesan Convention. The Committee elects a president from among its members." ¹

In serving as the bishop's council of advice, we respond to a variety of requests from Bishop Johnson to join him in conversations about the mission and ministry of the diocese. Some of this advice includes consent on the purchase, sale, or encumbrance of any property held by a congregation or the diocese. We also give the bishop advice and consent about any judicial sentence given to a clergyperson or concur in allowing a clergyperson to cease functioning as a member of the clergy. The Standing Committee also provides or declines consent for all bishops elected in the Episcopal Church. Within the Diocese, the Standing Committee, based on the guidance of the Commission of Ministry and the Bishop, recommends candidates for ordination.

In continuing the diocese's momentum for renewed mission and ministry, led By Bishop Johnson and supported by the Diocesan Council, Deaneries, Vestries, and lay and clergy leaders, the Standing Committee approved changes made in the management of the Kelton White Loan and Grant Fund and the Kelton White Memorial Trust.

In May, upon the recommendation of Bishop Deon, the Standing Committee unanimously approved a yearly spending policy of 3.5% of the 3-year ending balance average of the combined investment holdings of the Kelton White Loan and Grant Fund and the Kelton White Memorial Trust. This distribution policy was approved to take effect on June 30, 2022, and apply to future years until amended by the Standing Committee. This distribution policy was proposed by Schmersahl Treloar & Co, CPAs used by the Diocese of MO. It should be noted that the Kelton White corpus will not be touched. A grant request from a congregation for Kelton White funds up to \$30K is approved by Diocesan Council. Any grant request greater than \$30K or a request that is not designated for congregational support is approved by Standing Committee. This change makes the continued funding of missional activities less complicated while staying within the intended framework of the funds' intent.

In the past year, standing committee member Scott Ferguson and the Revs. Sally Weaver & Kevin McGranehave guided the work of the White Fund as he ends his term on the Standing

_

¹ www.diocesemo.org/standing-committee/

Committee, a special thanks to Father McGrane, who has faithfully served on the White Fund Committee these past four years. His wisdom and diligence will be missed.

Also ending their terms on Standing Committee are Mike Fowlkes and Betty Bowersox. Mike is the immediate past-President of the Standing Committee. He served in that role with wisdom, grace, and good humor. The structure and effectiveness of the Standing Committee's meeting were greatly enhanced by his leadership. In all of my three years, Betty Bowersox has served as Secretary of the Standing Committee. She is dedicated, knowledgeable, and often the one whose attention to detail made our work easier and better. She, Mike, and Kevin are faithful servants who love God and love God's Church, and in particular, the part of the body of Christ known as the Episcopal Diocese of Missouri.

As we think of the year ahead, the goals of the Standing Committee include:

- 1. Continue to activate the committee structure of the Standing Committee. These committees are:
 - a. Formation
 - b. Leadership development
 - c. Racial Reconciliation & Justice
 - d. The White Fund
- 2. Strengthen the focus of the Standing Committee as it adapts to new opportunities for mission and ministry in the Diocese.
- 3. Work with the Bishop and his team on the Spring Vestry University.

Standing Committee Members are:

- Ms. Betty Bowersox Grace Episcopal Church, Kirkwood (2022)
- Mr. Mike Fowlkes Trinity Episcopal Church, Central West End / St. Louis (2022)
- The Rev. Kevin McGrane Trinity Episcopal Church, St. James (2022)
- The Rev. Shug Goodlow St. Martin's Episcopal Church, Ellisville (2023)
- The Rev. Steve Lawler The Walker Leadership Institute @ Eden (2023)
- Dr. Carter Whitson Trinity Episcopal Church, Central West End / St. Louis (2023)
- The Rev. Kathie Adams-Shepherd Christ Church Cathedral, St. Louis (2024)
- The Rev. Dr. Emily Hillquist Davis St. Thomas Deaf Episcopal Church, Kirkwood (2024)
- Ms. Alexa Brewen St. Paul's Episcopal Church, Ironton (2024)
- The Rev. Sally Weaver Retired Priest (2025)
- Mr. Scott Ferguson The Episcopal Church of the Holy Communion, University City (2025)
- Ms. Pat O'Brien Grace Episcopal Church, Kirkwood (2025)

Ex-officio members:

- Mr. Hal Burroughs, Chancellor St. Peter's Episcopal Church, Ladue
- The Rt. Rev. Deon Johnson, Bishop of the Diocese of Missouri
- The Rev. Canon Doris Westfall Bishop's Canon to the Ordinary

Respectfully submitted by Rev. Steve Lawler, director of the Walker Leadership Institute @ Eden