Annual Report of the Commission on Ministry for the Diocese of Missouri November 2022

Dear Friends,

I am pleased to report on the work that the Commission on Ministry (COM) has accomplished since last year's convention. I began my work as chair of the COM in September of 2022, after serving under the capable leadership of the Rev. Dewey.

All meetings in 2022 have been conducted via Zoom. This has enabled our work to be conducted efficiently as it has eliminated the need for travel. The COM will return to occasional in-person meetings in October, alternating between in-person and virtual meetings going forward. This should enable us to meet people in the discernment process in person at least once during their journey, while capturing some of the cost-saving and other benefits of Zoom.

Members of the COM are a wonderful and prayerful group who is committed to this work. Thank you to all who have served in 2022: Ms. Rose Hayden; The Rev. Deacon Barbi Click; Ms. Elizabeth Hines; The Rev. Annette Joseph; Mr. Christopher Kurth; Ms. Bren O'Connor; Mr. DeWayne Trainer; The Rev. Deacon Paula Hartsfield, The Rev. Tom Albinson, Ms. Mary Zabawa Taylor.

Bishop Deon has challenged the COM to look closely at discernment at the parish level, not just for holy orders but also for the varieties of ministries that are available to all the baptized. Conversations about how to implement a more expansive and holistic view of ministry are taking place both at the commission level and the diocesan level. The COM participated in a joint retreat with the Diocesan Board of Examining Chaplains (DBEC) on April 9th.

The COM's work depends upon the recommendations of the DBEC, and the COM makes recommendations to the Bishop and the Standing Committee. It has been a privilege to work closely with Lynette Ballard, chair of DBEC, as well as with Canon Whitney and Executive Assistant Jillian Smith. Together, we are working to make the process for formation for ministry more accessible and streamlined.

Faithfully yours,

The Rev. Ann Dieterle, Chair, Commission on Ministry Rector of Calvary Episcopal Church, Columbia revann@calvaryonninth.org