Report of the 2023 Standing Committee

The Diocese of Missouri's Standing Committee serves as the bishop's official advice council. It is responsible for several functions in both the diocese and the greater Episcopal Church. In the diocese, it weighs in on diocesan policy. It authorizes the purchase, sale, removal, modification or encumbrance of any property a congregation or the diocese holds or desires to hold. It endorses judicial decisions handed down to clergy. It considers and recommends persons for ordination. It approves new congregations, changing the status of a congregation between mission and parish, or closing a congregation. It is the final arbiter of disputes between a parish and its rector. In the broader church, the Committee consents to the election of bishops. Happily, the other canonical roles of standing committees were unnecessary to consider since our bishop is singularly talented and always on top of his game. (P.S., don't let it go to your head, Bishop!)

The Committee is comprised of 6 lay and 6 clerical members who each serve four-year terms. The lay members this year were: Mrs. Alexa Brewen of St. Paul's, Ironton; Mr. Scott Freguson of Holy Communion, University City; Mr. Tim Korte of Trinity, St. Louis; Mrs. Pat O'Brien of Grace, Kirkwood; Mr. Rudy Walz of Holy Communion, University City, and; Dr. Carter Whitson of Trinity St. Louis. The clerical members of the Committee were: The Very Reverend Kathy Adams-Sheperd of Christ Church Cathedral, St. Louis; the Reverend Shug Goodlow of Christ Church, Rolla; the Reverend Dr. Emily Hillquist-Davis of Advent and St. Thomas Deaf Church, Crestwood, the Reverend Chester Hines, Jr., of Holy Communion, University City; the Reverend Steve Lawler of the Walker Institute at Eden Theological Seminary, Webster Groves, and; the Reverend Sally Weaver of St. John and St. James, Sullivan. Ex officio members have been the Right Reverend Deon Johnson, Canon to the Ordinary Doris Westfall, and Chancellor Hal Burroughs. This year, Carter Whitson served as president of the Committee. Sally Weaver served as Vice-President. Emily Hillquist-Davis served as the secretary.

This year, it was with great joy that the Committee interviewed and recommended nine candidates for ordination to holy orders. Garron Daniels and Ryan Missel were ordained to the transitional diaconate and priesthood. Aaron Rogers was ordained to the transitional diaconate and will be ordained to the priesthood in December. Loretta Go and David Luckes were ordained to the vocational diaconate. Justin Martin and Jared Moore will be ordained to the vocational diaconate. Bethann Rohlfing and Zack Rugenstone will be ordained to the transitional diaconate later this year. We anticipate great things to come from all of their ministries.

Consenting to elections of bishops diocesan, co-adjutor, and suffragan in the greater church is a sacred responsibility of the Standing Committee. We consented to elections in the dioceses of Central Florida, New Jersey, West Texas, the Armed Forces and Federal Ministries, Maryland, Arkansas, and Albany. Controversially, our committee, along with most standing committees in the church, withheld consent to the election of a bishop coadjutor in the Diocese of Florida. This was the second time that Florida's elections failed to garner the support of a majority of dioceses. The procedural inconsistencies and violations of canonical law were just too great to ignore.

While the Committee closely followed the exciting work being done in the Requiem and Renaissance parishes, we happily certified the merger of St. Luke's and Good Shepard as Hope Episcopal Church of Town and Country. On a more somber note, the Standing Committee ratified the Bishop's sanctions against Christ Church, Rolla. We would also like to acknowledge the ongoing work of Kuhn Construction

surveying the structural viability of churches in the Diocese. The Committee approved changes to the White Fund to help defray repair costs to individual parishes.

The Reverend Shug Goodlow, the Reverend Steve Lawler, and Lay Member Carter Whitson end our terms on the Standing Committee. On behalf of Shug and Steve, I can truthfully say that it has been an honor to serve.

Respectfully submitted,

Carter Whitson, President