Diocese of Missouri Diocesan Council Report to the 184th Convention – 2023

Prepared by Angela Breeher, Vice-Chair

The Diocesan Council is made up of six lay persons elected at-large for staggered terms of three years and one lay and one clergy representative elected to two-year terms by each of the Convocations. The bishop also appoints three members of the Council subject to ratification by the elected members. The bishop serves as chair of the Council and appoints a vice chair to serve in his or her absence. Our diocesan Canons require that the Council meet no fewer than six times between the annual meetings of Convention and at least once each quarter.

The Diocesan Council does the work of the Diocesan Convention when Convention is not in session, including:

- development of the program budget
- oversight of the programs and offices funded by the budget
- oversight and interpretation of diocesan policies
- members of this committee also serve as members of COEDMO, the Corporation of the Episcopal Diocese of Missouri

Appointments and Elections

Diocesan Investment Trust: Elected three trustees - Kris Reppert (Christ Church Cathedral) and Bill Young (All Saints & Ascension) to 2-year terms, and Brian Barnhart (Holy Communion) to serve the second year of a vacated position.

Commission on Ministry: Approved Bishop Deon's appointment of Deborah Nelson-Linck.

Diocesan Council: Vice-Chair (Angela Breeher, St. Paul's – Carondelet), Secretary (Sondra Kekec, All Saints' – Farmington), and Vice-Secretary (Michael Reiser, Christ Church Cathedral).

Diocesan Council Standing Teams – selected Convenors: Stewardship (Sondra Kekec, All Saints' – Farmington), Vital Communities (Angela Breeher, St. Paul's – Carondelet), Property & Facilities (Annette Webb – Calvary, Columbia)

New Ventures in Community Ministries: Nancy Emmel Gunn (St. John's – Tower Grove), Kerry Quinlisk (Transfiguration – Lake St. Louis), Bill Haggerty

Church Assistance Endowment Fund: Nancy Emmel Gunn (St. John's – Tower Grove), Harry Leip (Trinity – CWE), Justin Martin (Christ Church Cathedral – St. Louis), Sondra Kekec (All Saints' – Farmington).

Resolutions:

Passed 2023 Clergy Housing Allowance resolutions for Bishop Deon Johnson and eight diocesan clergy staff.

Submitted Resolution A-184 setting Clergy Compensation for the 184th Diocesan Convention.

Created and approved a Parish Remediation Process in response to Resolution D-182-B proposing a new Canon IV.22 of our Diocesan Constitution and Canons.

Proposed and sent to the Resolutions Committee an alternative to using Average Sunday Attendance for determining the number of lay delegates from each congregation of our diocese, for consideration at the 184th Convention.

<u>Grants</u>

Campus Ministry Fund: \$96,000 for expenses of 2 lay missionaries/ evangelists from Faith Christian Church of India for their work in the Asian Indian communities around the campuses in Cape Girardeau and Rolla, a ½ time clergy position at Trinity Church – St. Charles, and to partially fund a full-time clergy position at Calvary Church - Columbia.

Church Assistance Endowment Fund: \$64,295 for 12 grants, (priorities of safety and need.)

Clergy Medical Assistance Fund: \$38,363 in response to 20 requests to cover out-of-pocket medical expenses for clergy in our diocese.

Future Mission/Property Fund: up to \$157,200 for repairs to the former St. Matthew's - Mexico building (currently being rented), for work at the Grace Hill Property (currently being rented), and an accessible bathroom at the Church of St. John & St. James – Sullivan.

Kelton & Alma White Fund: \$399,000 to provide operating support for 18 congregations; \$280,000 for the 2024 Diocesan Operating Budget; \$100,000 for the Rural Revitalization Program

Theological Education Fund: \$9,000 in scholarships for eight seminary students.

New Ventures in Community Ministries: \$155,509 for 10 grants to fund new ministries across our diocese. Earmarked funds for a grant to the Creation Care team to create a "grant within a grant" for congregations in the Diocese of MO to begin or expand their own projects around creation care in 2024.

Other Actions

Participated in the two-day Joint Leadership Conference in February 2023 at St. Timothy's – Creve Coeur.

Regularly reviewed the diocesan Strategic Visioning Plan and collaborated with our Bishop and staff, standing teams and committees to help facilitate, support, and receive updates on Plan initiatives.

Received reports and updates at each meeting from:

- Bishop Deon re: life and ministries of our Diocese including clergy transitions, properties, diocesan staff, community outreach, and national church matters.
- Convocations about their activities, accomplishments, and challenges.
- Financial reports of the Diocese's Operating Budget, funds, and investments.
- Diocesan Council's Standing Teams: Facilities, Stewardship, and Vital Communities.

Approved the 2024 Diocesan Council meeting calendar.

Received and accepted the audit of the 2022 books of COEDMO and unanimously approved the audit.

Received property audits for church buildings in the Diocese and communicated with congregations regarding repairs and maintenance as needed.

Drafted a balanced 2024 Operating Budget for the Diocese of MO, shared it with Convocations for consideration and input, and approved a final budget for adoption at the 184th Diocesan Convention.

Diocesan Council Members

(Terms expire at 2023 Convention)

Bill Haggerty The Ven. Harry Leip - Trinity Episcopal Church, St. Louis Liz Maiocco, Trinity Episcopal Church, St. Louis Justin Martin, Christ Church Cathedral, St. Louis Cheryl Nield - Grace Episcopal Church, Jefferson City Kerry Quinlisk - The Episcopal Church of the Transfiguration, Lake St. Louis Annette Webb - Calvary Episcopal Church, Columbia

(Terms expire at 2024 Convention)

Angela Breeher - St. Paul's Episcopal Church, Carondelet/St. Louis The Rev. Nancy Emmel Gun - St. John's Episcopal Church, Tower Grove/St. Louis The Rev. Josh Huber - Calvary Episcopal Church, Columbia Sondra Kekec - All Saints' Episcopal Church, Farmington Liz Yount - St. Peter's Episcopal Church, Ladue

(Terms expire at 2025 Convention)

Ann Binggeli - Calvary Episcopal Church, Columbia Larry Cornelius - St. Martin's Episcopal Church, Ellisville The Rev. Amy Fallon - Trinity Episcopal Church, Kirksville Dr. Robert Lowe - Christ Episcopal Church, Cape Girardeau The Rev. Michael Nchimbi - Trinity Episcopal Church, St. Charles Michael Reiser - Christ Church Cathedral, St. Louis Sheila Thiele - Christ Episcopal Church, Cape Girardeau

Ex-officio members:

Andrew Bleyer - Emmanuel Episcopal Church, Webster Groves, Vice-Chancellor Hal Burroughs - St. Peter's Episcopal Church, Ladue, Chancellor Al Ludwig - Emmanuel Episcopal Church, Webster Groves, Vice-Chancellor & Treasurer

Offices of the Bishop:

The Rt. Rev. Deon Johnson - Bishop / Council Chair The Rev. Canon Doris Westfall - Bishop's Canon to the Ordinary Canon Desiree Brattin - Bishop's Canon for Finance and Administration