The 178th convention convenes

November 27, 2017
share on Facebook share on Twitter share on LinkedIn

The 178th Diocesan Convention has elected to Cathedral Chapter: Greta Lambert and the Rev. Carol Wesley; to Diocesan Council, Sondra Kekec and Janet Thompson; to Disciplinary Board, the Rev. Dawn-Victoria Mitchell, Krissy Bender-Crice, Scott Thompson; to Standing Committee, the Rev. Leslie Scoopmire, Lisa Fox, and Loretta Go.

The three resolutions, and one resolution to the Constitution and Canons were passed by convention. There was some revision of language in B-178 and C-178, and you can find that all on the convention webpage,

Convention passed the 2018 operating budget for the diocese as submitted, copies of that on the above linked webpage.

Bishop Wayne Smith spoke to the diocese  about baptism and our prayer book ("built for a people devoted to baptizing, and being the church, and growing in discipleship"), and about reconciliation and generosity. You can read his entire address online.

"...We are baptized as a present and real sign of Christ reconciling us to God. Reconciliation is part of the great work ahead of us. So reconciled ourselves, reconciliation becomes a way of life for us... These are interesting times—maddening, uncertain, peevish, and full of possibility. It is a great time to be alive, and an even greater time to be a Christian."

Official minutes of convention will likely be available by the end of the calendar year.  Images and presentations will be added to diocesan news in the next days.

More Info

Need more information? Contact