Episcopal School for Ministry

Welcome to the Episcopal School for Ministry

Making Disciples of Jesus For the Ministry of the Church

The Episcopal School for Ministry convenes as a community of formation in the Diocese of Missouri.

ESM enriches students' capacity for ministry. The school provides options for those called to ordination and also for those seeking to develop their skills as lay ministers.

The School offers the ongoing Program for Theological Formation, a three year course of study, beginning a new term each August.

ESM also offers the Program for Congregational Vitality.

ESM plans a colloquium on eucharistic theologies.

The life of the Episcopal School for Ministry is a comprised of worship, fellowship, and study. We gather for prayer, learning, and mutual support. Each weekend that the School meets is structured by Morning and Evening Prayer, the Eucharist, and Compline. We share meals together, and we share our journeys of discipleship with each other. Many students cherish these weekends as a mini-retreat. The learning is challenging but accessible to all types of students. We have students with advanced academic backgrounds and others with very little educational experience after high school.


In the Theological Formation and Congregational Vitality program: all classes, worship, and meals are at Eden Seminary campus in Webster Groves, Missouri. Overnight accomodation is available.

More information on location, maps, and driving directions.

Application and Fees

The application form is available online in .DOC format. You may also email or phone the registrar for a hard copy. (ESMRegistrar@diocesemo.org)

The fee for one term of the Theological Formation program is $400, which includes Friday evening dinner, Saturday breakfast and lunch. The charge for overnight accomodation is $50 per term.




ESM Academic Year Dates


Fall Term

  • August 26 (Saturday only)
  • Sept. 22-23
  • Oct. 27-28 
  • December 1-2 

Winter/Spring Term

  • December 16, 2017 (Saturday only)
  • January 26-27, 2018
  • February 23-24, 2018
  • March 23-24, 2018

Summer 2018

  • April 28, 2018 (Saturday only)
  • May 11-12, 2018
  • June 29-30, 2018
  • July 27-28, 2018




ESM Board

Member Term expires
Franklin Kline 178th Convention
Kathleen McDonald 178th Convention
Stephen Robin 178th Convention
The Rev. Dr. Marshall Crossnoe 177th Convention
Dr. Donna Hawk-Reinhard 177th Convention
Dr. Jim McCullough 177th Convention
The Rev. Dr. Peter Van Horne 177th Convention
Barbi Click 176th Convention
The Rev. Dr. Paula Hartsfield 176th Convention
Andy Rikand 176th Convention
Leslie Scoopmire 176th Convention

More Info

Contact ESM Dean, the Rev. Dr. Dan Handschy
Scroll down for current ESM board membership.