Commission on Ministry

The Commission on Ministry, as outlined in National Church canons, is charged with assisting the Bishop “in determining present and future needs for ministry in the diocese”, “in enlisting and selecting persons for Holy Orders”, and making recommendations to the bishop.  

The charge to the Commission includes guiding and examining postulants and candidates, assisting with ministry enrichment for deacons and priests, and helping to explore and implement ways in which the diocese may live out its baptismal ministries.  

Members of the Commission 2017

Name Parish Term until
Adams, Mr. Joseph (Joe) University City-Holy Communion 2017 (178th Convention)
Angell, The Rev. Michael (Mike), Chair University City-Holy Communion 2019 (180th Convention)
Backsmeyer, Ms. Lisann (Lisann) Louisiana - Calvary 2017(178th Convention)
Ballard, Mrs. Lynette (Lyn) Kirkwood - Grace 2020 (181st Convention)
Bird, The Rev. Edith Simonton (Edie) Cape Girardeau - Christ Church 2018 (179th Convention)
Bryant, Mrs. Jean (Jeanie) Jefferson City - Grace 2020 (181st Convention)
Hartsfield, The Rev. Dr. Paula Kindrick (Paula) Jefferson City - Grace 2018 (179th Convention)
Hines, Mrs. Elizabeth (Elizabeth) University City-Holy Communion 2018 (179th Convention)
Kozielec, The Rev. Mark (Mark) St. Louis - St. Mark's 2017 (178th Convention)
Leip, The Rev. Harry L. III (Harry) Central West End - Trinity 2018 (179th Convention)
Metzler, The Rev. Martha Grace (Martie) Webster Groves - Emmanuel 2020 (181st Convention)
Whitson, Dr. Carter St. Louis - All Saints' 2019 (180th Convention)




2018 Meetings

  • Meetings at  Holy Communion, 7401 Delmar Blvd., University City, MO 63130
  • February 17 (Tentative)
  • March 17
  • April 21
  • May 19
  • June 16
  • July and August (only if needed)
  • September 15 Conference on Ministry
  • October 20
  • November (no meeting due to convention
  • December (only if needed)

More Info

Contact: The Rev. Mike Angell, chair, Commission on Ministry