Disciplinary Board

The Disciplinary Board consists of seven: 4 clergy and 3 lay members. Each serves a three year term. (Having an extra clergy person is mandated in the Canons of The Episcopal Church.)

The Disciplinary Board exists to help in cases where clergy have been presented with charges under the Ecclesiastical Disciplinary Canons (Title IV) of the Canons of The Episcopal Church.

The board meets at least once a year soon after Diocesan Convention to elect a President of the Board and to be trained about their role.

If a presentment arises during the course of the year the President along with the Bishop reviews the work of the Intake Officer to determine if a further investigation is warranted. Depending upon the outcome of the investigation, the board may be divided into two groups: one that would seek conciliation and the other to serve as a trial court should a case go that far.

In most years the board will not meet more often than the one time to elect the president. Obviously, if the board gets called into action, the work will be intense.

For current Disciplinary Board members, please contact the Offices of the Bishop.

More Info


Intake Officers under Title IV

The Rev. Sally Weaver, cell: 314-651-3836, email:sallysweaver@yahoo.com


Contact for Safeguarding and Safe Church:

The Rev. Canon Loren Lasch
(314) 231-1220 ext.1383, LLasch@diocesemo.org