The Diocese

Map of the Diocese


Diomo Gray Trans background no letteringThere are 42 churches in the Diocese (30 are parishes and 11 are organized missions),  campus ministry, and an intentional community (Deaconess Anne House, a part of the Episcopal Service Corps). A parish is financially self-supporting. Typically the lead minister at a parish is called a Rector, and at a mission, a Vicar.

Diomo Gray Trans background no letteringThe Rt. Rev. Deon K. Johnson, the eleventh Bishop of the Episcopal Diocese of Missouri, was ordained on June 13, 2020 at Christ Church Cathedral in St. Louis. One of the three orders of ordained ministers in the church, bishops are charged with the apostolic work of leading, supervising, and uniting the church.

Diomo Gray Trans background no letteringAccording to parochial reports in 2018, there were 10,065 members in this diocese. The 20 churches in St. Louis City/County represent about 74% of diocesan membership. The Tables of Statistics for all dioceses in The Episcopal Church, including the Diocese of Missouri, are maintained online.

Diomo Gray Trans background no letteringThe 2020 Diocesan Operating Budget as passed by the 180th Diocesan Convention projected expenditures totaling $2,552,210.

Diomo Gray Trans background no letteringIn 2020 there are 127 ordained women and men canonically resident in the diocese, of whom 60 are retired.

Diomo Gray Trans background no letteringThe Bishop and Diocesan Council, an elected body, plan policy and recommend a budget for the program of the Diocese, which is approved each year at the annual Diocesan Convention.

Diomo Gray Trans background no letteringThere are six Convocation districts in the Diocese. The Members of Convention meet from time to time during the recess of Convention in district assemblies called Convocations. They are charged with: familiarize Convention delegates with proposed resolutions and diocesan goals and budget; to provide communication between delegates and Diocesan Council; to facilitate communication between Diocesan Council and Vestries/Bishop's Committees; to elect Diocesan Council members and to propose nominees for Standing Committee, Diocesan Council Members At Large, Cathedral Chapter and General Convention Deputies; and to promote Christian fellowship. Convocations determine their own structure and elect officers as needed.

Diomo Gray Trans background no letteringThe Diocese has had a companion relationship with the Diocese of Lui in southern Sudan since April 2006. The Diocese previously had a companion relationship with the Anglican dioceses of northern Nigeria and with the Diocese of Puerto Rico.


The Mission of the Diocese of Missouri is the mission of all baptized Christians: to teach and to spread the Gospel and its knowledge of salvation to all people; and to make the love of Christ known in the world through our own actions as individuals, as congregations, and as the Diocese, by feeding the hungry, welcoming the stranger, clothing the naked, housing the homeless, caring for the sick, visiting the prisoner, and comforting those in times of trouble. Adopted at the 154th Convention, February 1994.


Making Disciples
Building Congregations
For the Life of the World

Presented at the 168th Diocesan Convention, 2007

Diomo Gray Trans background no letteringThe Diocese of Missouri consists of the territory embraced within the City of St. Louis, and the following fifty four Counties of the State of Missouri:

Adair, Audrain, Bollinger, Boone, Butler, Callaway, Cape Girardeau, Carter, Clark, Cole, Crawford, Dent, Dunklin, Franklin, Gasconade, Iron, Jefferson, Knox, Lewis, Lincoln, Macon, Madison, Maries, Marion, Miller, Mississippi, Monroe, Montgomery, New Madrid, Oregon, Osage, Pemiscot, Perry, Phelps, Pike, Pulaski, Ralls, Randolph, Reynolds, Ripley, St. Charles, Ste. Genevieve, St. Francois, St. Louis, Schuyler, Scotland, Scott, Shannon, Shelby, Stoddard, Texas, Warren, Washington, Wayne.